An Open Letter to my Daughter

Dear Daughter,

baby bThree months ago today, you were born, and absolutely everything about our lives changed. From the instant I saw your adorable little face with those chubby little cheeks, I was head over heels in love. No matter how many diapers you fill, how many times you spit up all over me, or how many nights you want to party until 2am, I will never ever stop loving you fiercely.

However, I must warn you – I will never love you first.

You see, before you came along, God gave me someone else to love before you. You know him as your amazing Daddy. He’s super handsome and sweet. He loves you with all of his heart. He also loves me with everything he has. Two years ago we vowed to love each other until death parts us. One day, far from now, you will leave our home and join together with a husband of your own (Genesis 2:24).

DaveyWedding.Post-CeremonyFormals-56At that point, I will still have your Daddy. I need to love him before I love you.

If you don’t think that’s fair, I want you to know that I don’t love your Daddy first either.

You see, on that same day you were born, we celebrated something even bigger. Resurrection Sunday reminds us of the day 2000+ years ago when everything really changed. Our big God defeated death once and for all! He showed His love for us by sending His son to die on that cross and to resurrect three days later. He loved so we could love. We love because he first loved us (1 John 4:19).

He has asked me to love him first – above & before everything else – with all my heart, soul, and strength (Deuteronomy 6:5).

Baby girl, I LOVE YOU. You should know that; I tell you every chance I get and show you as best as I can.

But here’s the reality:

In order to love you best, I can never love you first.

I hope one day you will understand. When you meet Jesus and really get to know Him and allow His love to abide in you, I know you’ll understand. Daddy & I pray for you every single day. We want you to love and be loved by our precious savior, Jesus.

His love really is the best, and I want you to love Him first.

Love you deeply,
Mommy

One thought on “An Open Letter to my Daughter

  1. Ryan Fisher says:

    Samantha!! I miss your tender spirit and kind words!! I am blown away at how much motherhood can change a woman and I see it here the simple difference between you posting before your beautiful baby was born and now, it is amazing!!
    Love you lots keep inspiring the world around you with your powerful yet tender words 🙂

Leave a comment